Wednesday, October 08, 2008

The Rio Group at UN -Western Sahara

Rio Group supports Saharawi people’s exercise of their right to self-determination



The Rio Group, composed of 22 countries from Latin America and the Caribbean, declared support to the Saharawi people’s right to self-determination, on Monday before the UN 4th Committee for Decolonisation in New York.

The Group reaffirmed hope that with the support of the UN “the Saharawi people would be able to exercise their right to self-determination", declared Mexican Ambassador to the UN, Mr. Pablo Macedo, in his statement before the Committee on behalf of the group.

He declared that the group takes into account “the recent process of dispute settlement and the four of rounds of negotiations undertaken in the last year”, he appealed to the parties to “reinvigorate this effort”.

Mr. Pablo Macedo underscored the importance of ensuring that all the peoples of the world had the ability to exercise their inalienable right to self- determination, “a right that was affirmed in the United Nations Charter, as well as a number of General Assembly resolutions”, he affirmed.

“To date, the process of decolonization had made it possible for many peoples to win their independence, and the Special Committee’s establishment had been a milestone in this history”, he added.

“More than 80 countries had been aided by the Committee’s work. The fact that 16 Non-Self-Governing Territories remained on the United Nations list showed, however”, that “this task remained unfulfilled”, he estimated.

Thus, he appealed to the relevant administering Powers to adopt the necessary measures to achieve decolonisation in each of them, taking their particular situation into account on a case-by-case basis.

He also expressed the Rio Group’s appreciation to the members of the Special Committee, and expressed further hope that its recommendations would be adopted by the General Assembly.

The Rio group is composed of Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Salvador, Uruguay and Venezuela.


Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?